Lasallian Journalists at DSPC 2016

Young aspirant writers and reporters from public and private schools joined the 2016 Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC), Secondary Level at Congressman Ramon A. Arnaldo High School (CRAAHS) last October 15 with the theme, “Strengthening Freedom of Information through Campus Journalism.”

The contest held the following in English and Filipino:
News Writing
Editorial Writing
Feature Writing
Sports Writing
Copyreading and Headline Writing
Photojournalism Writing
Editorial Cartooning
Science and Technology Writing
TV Newscasting (Team Category)
Radio Broadcasting (Team Category)

It took place simultaneously at respective areas inside the school. The students were given enough time depending on the category they were in. The winners were announced in the afternoon during the awarding ceremony.

Congratulations to our lasallian journalists who made it to the top 10 for writing and top 3 for broadcasting. They will represent the Roxas City Division for the Regional Schools Press Conference (RSPC) to be held on November in Iloilo.



Aebril Diaz, Grade 11 – Champion – News Writing
Francheska Alexine Dadivas, Grade 11 – Champion – Photojournalism
Reesa Tan Azarraga, Grade 10 – Second Place – Science and Technology Writing
Francine Gwen Dela Cruz, Grade 9 – Third Place – Feature Writing
Gilean Gayle Tenefrancia, Grade 11 – Third Place – Copyreading and Headline Writing
Dhanna Arlane Blancaver, Grade 11 – Sports Writing
Daphne Mayren Villar, Grade 11 – Sixth Place – Editorial Cartooning

Ashley Kaye Bonites – Best News Presentor
Fiona Antoinette Concepcion
Gianne Paulo Muñoz
Princess Paulene Obordo
Giean Marie Tenefrancia, Grade 9
Jayren Marie Recio
Justin Carl Relano, Grade 11 – Second Place – Radio Broadcasting


Klarisse Magallanes, Grade 10 – Champion – Science and Technology
Rembrandt James Dumangas, Grade 11 – Second Place – Feature Writing
Ariet Francisco, Grade 11 – Third Place – Editorial Writing
Thea Danielle Bagaso, Grade 11 – Eighth Place – Copyreading and Headline Writing
Sarah Christina Giganto, Grade 8 – Sixth Place – Sports Writing
Rena Mariel Dollete, Grade 9 – Fifth Place – Photojournalism Writing

Gian Rhick Balgos
Shayne  Gabionza
Charles Leo Lusanta
Quinn Diane Dela Ostia
Paul Iverson Villa, Grade 9
Juan Manuel Dela Cena, Grade 10
Mikaila Angela Abenido, Grade 11 – Second Place – Best in Infomercial – Radio Broadcasting

Congratulations also to Ms. Jonalyn Quiambao, Sir Adrian Contillo, and Sir Michael Vincent Barrera as coaches!


Photo Source:
Gilean Gayle Tenfrancia
Giean Marie Tenefrancia


About the author / 


fifteen and sassy lol // blogger

Related post

Post tabs


Fusce nisl urna, rutrum eget condimentum nec, tincidunt sit amet massa. Pellentesque lacinia volutpat lacus. Integer vulputate orci ut felis pulvinar congue. Lorem ipsum dolor

Latest Comments


    Get in touch

    We consistently update our school blog, and we are glad to notify and inform you of what's newest happenings in St. John - Roxas.

    Stay up-to date with the latest news and other stuffs, Sign Up today!